The Game-Master's Support

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A place where Eternal Game-Masters can find support and the occasional game. Both long time GMs and Players welcome!

5 posters

Roland's Problems

Roland
    Roland

Roland's Problems Empty Roland's Problems

Post  Roland Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:37 pm

I am a newer GM, I have run a total of four campaigns, three of them zombie adventures and the fourth, Rogue Trader WH40K. I have lots of experience in roleplaying fantasy games, none GMing them oddly enough. I tend to run an "open" world game, I let my players write the fiction, I just place danger in there and let them do what they want. I suppose my issue is that I am a little vague, and that my players are WAY too used to railroad adventures and think they MUST do what I say. I've told them how I run games many times.
    So I guess my problem is that I am a little vague with plot points and where they go specifically.
    Basalock
    Basalock

Roland's Problems Empty Re: Roland's Problems

Post  Basalock Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:27 pm

It seems to me that you both have different schools of thought on how the game should be run. I would suggest either trying to discuss the level of railroading they want and trying to agree on a good middle ground for what you like, and what they like. You should also consider building up a loose main plot before the next session, so that if they seem to be lost than you can have an idea about where to direct them.
    Best of Luck.
    Nyo
    Nyo
    Admin

Post  Nyo Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:30 pm

Work on your descriptive skills (though we all succumb to just being vague at times) but it's not easy being SO detailed on the time. Don't feel that you're at fault with that because you can always improve it!